The history of The W.H. Stark House is as impressive as the landmark itself. It was built in 1894 by W.H. Stark and his wife, Miriam Lutcher Stark, who occupied the house until their respective deaths in 1936. The home remained vacant until 1971, at which time a major ten-year restoration was commenced. The restored Stark House opened for public tours on February 10, 1981, and it remains open currently for public tours, allowing visitors to view the Stark family’s original furnishings and personal effects, as well as rare 18th and 19th century decorative arts. As the only surviving structure of many that once lined the tree-shaded, residential neighborhood in Orange, Texas, The W.H. Stark House is a unique testament to Texas social history and a point of interest to residents and visitors alike.